My my My my

SQUIRT TEAM - McKinney Lions
2007/2008 Season

Head Coach
CJ Niehoff

Asst Coaches
Randy LeBlanc
Robert Smith

Team Manager
Linda Stewart

Season Highlights
Dallas Stars Shootout --> Runner-up vs the DJHA Penguins (A)
Silver Stick 2007 Western Regional --> Great showing vs A/AA teams
Taos Thanksgiving Classic --> CHAMPIONS SQUIRT DIVISION
Featured on two covers of Ice Times Magazine in Fall of 07

2007 Holiday Classic --> Runner-up vs DSAS Canadiens
Featured in Good Sports section of Dallas Morning News

Texas Star Tournament --> Runner-up vs the Vosha Mustangs (AA)
Featured in McKinney Courier-Gazette Article
NTXHL Squirt B Regular Season CHAMPIONS (18-3-0 record, 36 pts)
NTXHL Squirt B Divisional Tournament CHAMPIONS (6-0-0 record)
Season Record - 40-10-0

Championship Series Summary

With two stunning defeats of the Lafayette Catahoulas over the weekend of championship hockey, the 2007-2008 McKinney Squirts won the NTXHL Divisional Championships on Saturday, March 29th. The victory solidified them as the best in their division of the 3 states that make up the NTXHL.
The first game started at 9:15am on Saturday and was a nail biter as the Lions beat the Catahoulas 3-2 in a defensive match, much of it played in the neutral zone. Nicolas Samadian was first to score on an assist from Jonathan Furney on a power play goal in the first. The boys went down by 1 on 2 goals from Brayden Hutchinson in the second. Unfortunately for the Catahoulas, it would be their last goals of the season. Ben Heger came up with the equalizer 7 minutes into the third period. Chance Riney then planted the puck in their net with 1:27 left in the game on a power play after an unfortunately timed penalty for the Catahoulas. From there it was a flat out knucklebuster with the Cajun Dogs giving everything they had to tally, but to no avail as the final buzzer sounded.

There was a rowdy, capacity crowd on hand at the US rink of the Dr Pepper StarCenter in Plano for the second and as it turned out, final game of the best of 3 game set, with some fans coming from as far as Chicago to see some great, select youth hockey. The game was an absolute rout as the blue and gold came out with fire in their eyes and an attitude of victory being the only option. They tallied 4 unanswered goals, three in the first and one in the second, everyone then chipped in supreme defensive play during the final period to give young goalie Brent McIntrye his well deserved championship shut out.
Six different McKinney players had points during the final game as a testament to the passing and teamwork evident throughout the season. Justin Piel scored on a feed from Chance Riney to start the scoring, then Calen Niehoff zigzagged the puck out of the defensive zone where a sweet pass to Nicolas Samadian and a nice wrister had the back of the net fluttering. Chance Riney then scored on a power play goal with a screamer from the blue line. Daniel Patrick had a tricky cut and score from the top of the circle to complete the scoring for the McKinney Lions. The championship banners will soon be hung with care at the Stonebriar ice rink along with the impressive Dallas Cup. Hopefully we'll see a rink in McKinney in our near future so we can mark it with the spoils of the victory. WAY TO GO GUYS!

Click here to view Team & Player Stats

Use this link to view team stats and standings on Pointstreak.com

Team Roster
 1  Brent McIntyre  Goalie
 5  Jonathan Furney  Forward
 7  Daniel Patrick  Defense
 8  Jacob Schentes  Defense
 9  Brandon Wood  Forward
 10 Nicolas Samadian  Forward
 11  Ben Heger  Center / Captain
 16  William Furney  Forward
 21  Calen Niehoff  Defense / Captain
 29  Christian Moran  Forward
 40  Luke LaBlanc  Forward
 43  Justin Piel  Forward
87 Chance Riney Center